sexy liberals rawk!

Pretty much every weekday morning for the last five years I’ve listened to The Stephanie Miller Show as I’m getting ready for and commuting into work. Her particular brand of political analysis (with fart jokes) is both highly entertaining and rather informative – just the way I need my political analysis. Especially since the entertaining parts of the show keep me from driving my car off a bridge when considering the political parts of the show.

Back in May they announced that Stephanie and her mooks would be bringing their Sexy Liberal Comedy Tour to their homebase of Los Angeles. My ears perked up and I thought, I must see this! So I checked with RockerChick to see if she’d like to join me, since one of the performers would be Hal Sparks and I knew she loved her some Hal (they had even met once and she said he was funnier than hell, super cute and very sweet). She jumped on the chance (and probably would’ve jumped on Hal, had the opportunity arisen), whereupon I quickly procured tickets for us about two days after they went on sale. Which, it turns out, was none too soon, as the show sold out in five days. And they had to add a second show. Since I was rapidly developing a harmless little crush on Ecclesiastical Mook John Fugelsang (he of The Unholy Experiment that I wrote about last month), I too was eager to see it. Especially if there was an appearance by show producer Chris Lavoie (I mean, look at that picture on that site – a hot smart sexy liberal in a NASA t-shirt – rowr!).

For the last five months I’ve been holding onto those tickets. Well, not literally, as that would have been vastly impractical and my eager sweaty palms would’ve rubbed all the ink off of them. But they’ve been sitting up on my home office area’s bulletin board.

Finally last night I was able to take them down and use them. For last night – after a delivery dinner of excellent vegan thai food – RockerChick and I made our way west and joined hundreds of other sexy liberals at the fabulous Wadsworth Theater (where I had seen Patrick Stewart perform A Christmas Carol over twenty years before) and enjoyed an evening of political humor and nary a fart joke to be heard. Though there were many jokes of a sexual nature, Ms. Stephanie Louise Miller. (Cue phony exasperated sigh.) Joining them were show cast Chris Lavoie (swoon), Voice Deity Jim Ward and associate producer Rebekah Taylor. And there was a special guest star: Rob Reiner.

And yes, I was able to take photos from my balcony seat, though I opted to not use a flash as I didn’t want to disturb my fellow sexy liberals.

As they signed off, they said they’d be back in town next year. If all continues to go well with HotScienceGuy, maybe I should take him…

Sexy Liberal Tour - John Fugelsang, Stephanie Miller and Hal Sparks
Sexy Liberal Tour - John Fugelsang, Stephanie Miller and Hal Sparks

Hal Sparks and Stephanie Miller demonstrate teabagging while Ecclesiastical Mook John Fugelsang prays for their souls.
Hal Sparks and Stephanie Miller demonstrate teabagging while Ecclesiastical Mook John Fugelsang prays for their souls.


Leave a Reply

