unbelievable generosity

Well, my participation in Holidailies didn’t last long, did it? Obviously I just can’t get myself to writing these days, so I’ll just move along to the main point of this entry: Christmas and CuteFilmNerd’s unbelievable generosity.

CuteFilmNerd and I went up to Fresno to visit my mom, my sister and her family. This time around we opted to stay at a motel, since last year we had to sleep separately when we stayed at my sister’s place. In the main rooms. With children and dogs traipsing through early in the morning, which isn’t conducive to sleeping. It made it a much more relaxed visit for me and, I think, for CuteFilmNerd. And, even though CuteFilmNerd isn’t big into holidays, he appreciated being around my family for the second Christmas in a row. It was very sweet.

I thought I was doing pretty good with the Christmas present getting (got him a number of things that he’d been talking about for awhile, including a film splicer used at MGM decades ago, which he had been looking at on eBay over the previous months), but CuteFilmNerd went a little crazy with the presents for me. I’m still stunned.

Beautiful toaster oven, which I've been wanting forever, and a very cool cookbook.
Beautiful toaster oven, which I've been wanting forever, and a very cool cookbook.

A few politically themed gifts, which makes a lot of sense with us, as we originally bonded over politics.
A few politically themed gifts, which makes a lot of sense with us, as we originally bonded over politics.

Browncoat goodness! Yay!
Browncoat goodness! Yay!

A Sherlock-tastic Christmas, including a couple of DVD sets of rare Holmes recordings. CuteFilmNerd certainly knows my love of Holmes.
A Sherlock-tastic Christmas, including a couple of DVD sets of rare Holmes recordings. CuteFilmNerd certainly knows my love of Holmes.

And the pièce de résistance:

An amazing camera. All of the previous photos were taken with the CoolPix that CuteFilmNerd gave me. I'm still kinda reeling.
An amazing camera. All of the previous photos were taken with the CoolPix that CuteFilmNerd gave me. I'm still kinda reeling.

What a sweet, wonderful man. How did I manage to luck out with this guy?

**************************
Now I’m taking the rest of the week off to get things done around the apartment (we were working only two days anyway). I haven’t been around much this past week, what with work and shopping and parties and travel, so the cats have been really missing me. Right now I’m surrounded by cats on the sofa. I’m going to be around so much this week that by the end of the week these cats are going to be ignoring me.


3 thoughts on “unbelievable generosity

  1. I said I would read what you write, and I have. I knew I wouldn’t make the number of posts required by Holidailies, which is why I didn’t commit, but I did manage to make more posts than I otherwise would have if I hadn’t told you I would. So it helped me out.

    Congrats on the Christmas loot! And the man that came with them, so to speak. I do remember a Christmas with an ex and her 2 daughters. At the end of rip, slash, tear, the older daughter (around 6, if I remember) said, “Gee, Mom, we sure got a lot of neat junk!” Your post reminds me of that.

    Happy New Year to you and CFN.

    Like

  2. Nice loot. 🙂 My toaster oven is a Black and Decker as well, and looks pretty similar to yours. I do nearly all of my baking and broiling in it, as it takes too much energy to get the big main oven heated up when I normally only cook for one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

