this and that…

I feel like writing, but no real subject pops up. Just a couple of little things:

  • I’m in the process of figuring out what constitutes an asthma attack and what doesn’t. I mean, not being able to take a deep breath is certainly a major symptom, but what else? Turns out I have two of the more unusual asthma symptoms around: sighing and anxiety. Perhaps those anxiety attacks I had back in late 2006-early 2007 were really early warning signs of my asthma. And I find I sigh quite frequently, which is confusing around friends because they’re sure that I’m thinking deep, heavy thoughts when in reality I’m just trying to find a way of catching my breath. Excessive yawning is another way of catching my breath, so if I’m yawning around you, it’s not because I’m tired or bored. Probably.
  • I have a deep dark secret to reveal: there are quite a few ’70s songs that I love unreservedly. Many of them are a bit on the cheesy side, while others at least approach The Land of Cheez. Wildfire, Seasons in the Sun, The Night That The Lights Went Out In Georgia, The Night Chicago Died, If You Could Read My Mind, The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald, The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face, etc, etc, etc. Even non-cheesy ’60s songs get me going (i.e. To Sir With Love). Play any of these songs and I guarantee that I will stop in my tracks and start singing along. At some point I will close my eyes and most likely sway. If my sense of restraint is completely gone, dancing will ensue. Admittedly, several of them became big around the time that my sister died, so songs like Wildfire, Seasons in the Sun, and If You Could Read My Mind (or anything mentioning death or disappearance) are irretrievably twined with memories of grief and recovery, but damn if I don’t still love all these songs (and more!) with all my heart and soul. *sigh*


(I actually sang this for my fifth grade Gong Show – got a 27!)

http://video.google.com/googleplayer.swf?docid=-2286078168971752827&hl=en&fs=true
I know, I know…*hangs head*


6 thoughts on “this and that…

  1. First, I’m sorry to hear that your sister died. And it’s not surprising that songs that you liked attract strong emotions of the place and time when you hear them now. This certainly is true of both high and low times in my life, although I’m an admitted music freak, so pretty much my life has a soundtrack, at least in my mind.

    I’m a big Gordon Lightfoot fan, so I’ll second his songs. Most of the 70’s top 40, with the exception of say 70-73 and 79 aren’t my thing. There are exceptions – Fleetwood Mac, some Kiss, Peter Frampton (wasn’t “Frampton Comes Alive” issued to everyone), Alice Cooper (band and solo). And, of course, punk was hitting in late 78, and I liked a lot of punk. But punk was never top 40. My 70’s was filled with rock. Led Zepplin, The Who, Mountain, The Doors, The Rolling Stones, Frank Zappa, Black Sabbath – the Ozzy years, Grand Funk Railroad, Edgar Winter, Johnny Winter, Robin Trower, Aerosmith, AC/DC, Heart, Foghat, Atomic Rooster, Ted Nugent, Blue Oyster Cult, Queen, Deep Purple, Cactus, Uriah Heep, Van Halen, Nazareth, Pat Travers – my lord, I could go on.

    My deep, dark secret – first, The Carpenters. Especially their cover of the Klaatu song “Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft.” Extra credit if you remember the what group everyone wondered “is they is or is they isn’t.” Karen carpenter had a lovely voice, and her brother was an excellent arranger.

    Second – Bread. David Gates could write mellow pop songs like no one else. Favorites – “If”, “Make It With You,” and “Guitar Man.”

    And I will sing along, but to dance – well, there better be alcohol involved. As Phil Collins once said, I can’t dance:-)

    Like

  2. “The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” was *huge* when I was in high school. I got that it was a ballad/dirge about a tragic shipwreck, but I always assumed that it was something that had happened so long ago as to be legendary. And then I found out it had happened in 1975, just one year before the song was a hit. Heh.

    Like

  3. Vince, my life has a soundtrack as well – sometimes my mind’s eye imagines a camera following me while the appropriate song plays in the background (i.e. Enya singing while waiting for a train in overcast San Luis Obispo – yeah, I know). Also, I love the Carpenters and, heaven help me, Bread. Mainly “If” – I think it’s the Hardy Boys connection (I thought both Shaun and Parker were dreamy!). And I totally remember “Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft” (but not what group everyone wondered “is they is or is they isn’t”).

    Janiece and Marcia, good to know I’m not the only one. I am in good company! Um, woo hoo?

    Stan, that surprised me as well. Here I was thinking it was about a steamer from the 20s or 30s, then I read up on it. Whoa.

    bstewart, I’m listening to it now. A little too depressing, even for me – the voice is just way too monotone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

