nice weekends…

…are nice.

Nice weekends watching interesting movies? Are very nice.

Nice weekends watching interesting movies with a cute, interesting and funny guy who is a film nerd of the first magnitude? Super nice.

So is seeing 2001: A Space Odyssey for the first time ever. Which happened to be a 70mm print on the big screen. With said film nerd. Who’s also a sci-fi/horror film fan. And an actor. And a lefty who’s got a teeny bit of a “really handsome version of Al Franken” thing going (and yes, there is such a thing – shut up).

Ooh, yeah…

(BTW, I know I’ve mentioned before that I love my friends, but it’s especially true when they’re being all geeky and dorky. Yesterday, while at a political meeting, I mentioned to MusicianMan that I would be seeing 2001: A Space Odyssey for the first time ever. After his askance looks in my general direction, along with statements which indicated that he doubted the truth of my sci-fi fandom, he proceeded to tell me the best place to sit to enjoy the movie. Then he showed me movie stills that he had on his laptop. Then he emailed me said movie stills last night. And called me this morning to see how I enjoyed the movie.

MusicianMan may bear a passing resemblance to David Duchovny, but he’s as big a dorky geek as they come, even if he’s all cool and low-key about it. I love my geeky dorky friends.)

So CuteFilmNerd and I are talking about getting together again on Thursday (date #3 – we saw Chicago 10 on Saturday night). I’m looking forward to it.

Life is certainly keeping itself interesting. I’m gonna do my damned best to not over-analyze things (again, shut up) and just allow whatever is supposed to happen happen. I’m feeling a little odd, since my break-up is still pretty recent. The last time I started seeing someone soon after a break-up was in ’93, when FG and I got together after my break-up with ScreenWriter (the ex with whom I’m still friends). There was a space of two and a half months between those two relationships, which felt to me at the time as not enough time. FG and I ended up being together three and a half years, so I guess it wasn’t too short a time after all. But three weeks? That’s pretty damned short.

This time I really just want to relax about it all because, while I’m feeling better than I did three weeks ago, my emotions are still a little funky and I could easily engage in self-sabotage if I’m not careful. I’ve done it before – allowed my insecurities to get the better of me as I pushed away a promising prospect or two. I don’t want it to happen again. However, I don’t want to get ahead of myself here either, which is also very easy for me to do.

The universe is keeping me on my toes. I haven’t yet decided if I want to thank it, but with this new development, I won’t curse it just yet.


2 thoughts on “nice weekends…

Leave a Reply

