yeah, baby…

On Friday night I went to RockerChick’s place to hang out, because there was no way I was going to stay at home on a Friday night – a night I’d usually spent in the South Bay with HSTeacher. Turns out, Friday would have been RockerChick’s anniversary with her recently divorced hex-husband, so we were both in a “Men? Who needs ’em?” kind of mood. While there, she popped in her now favoritest movie: Shoot ‘Em Up. Though I’m not much into action movies, I agreed, as it seemed mindless yet interesting. And it looked like everyone had fun making it.

Well, it didn’t turn out to be my favoritest movie ever. With that title, I knew it wasn’t going to be a Merchant and Ivory period piece based on Jane Austin. But even I wasn’t prepared for the sheer amount of gunfire and cartoony blood and extreme violence. And I never knew carrots could be so deadly.

However, it does have one of my favoritest movie rants ever (about drivers who don’t signal – as transcribed by bstewart).

Tell it, Clive.

(Interesting aside: neither RockerChick nor I knew what city the movie was set in. We knew it didn’t look like New York, though I’ve never been there. I posited that perhaps it was Toronto – a city RockerChick used to visit frequently when she dated a man who lived there. I, of course, have never visited the city. According to bstwart’s blog, looks like I was correct about where they filmed, but wrong about what the setting was supposed to be. Huh.)

The rest of the weekend was spent hanging out with Sarriah and ModelGirl (separately) and, once I got home and missed the opening of the Oscars (sorry pretend boyfriend Jon Stewart!), I received a text from TheFirst, saying he was down the freeway and did I want to have dinner or dessert? The answer was affirmative.

Did I mention that I love my friends and their Keep-Carol-Occupied-On-This-First-Boyfriendless-Weekend-In-18-Months ways?

Yeah, baby…


2 thoughts on “yeah, baby…

  1. Carol Elaine, it would take a week for me to catalog everything that’s so wrong with Shoot ‘Em Up and yet… geez, it was entertaining. (I just saw it last night) Maybe I had such low expectations, maybe it was Paul Giamatti in a rare villainous role, maybe it was the brilliant rants mixed with truly lame, throwaway quips, maybe it was Monica Bellucci looking absolutely stunning, for SURE it was Clive Owen, maybe it was the recognizable Toronto landmarks… I had a blast.

    Like

  2. I don’t disagree with ya, bstewart23. I can definitely see how people could love this movie (I’m not a big Clive Owen fan, but I haven’t seen Children of Men – yeah, yeah, I know), but I just can’t get into that much violence.

    I gotta say, though, that baby was tugging at my ovaries. Big time. I loved the rants. I respect the carrot in a way I never had before.

    One of the things that really comes across on Shoot ‘Em Up is just how much damned fun everyone had making it. You have fun with what you’re doing and the audience is going to see that and love it. I think that’s a big reason so many people find it so entertaining. On some level I did as well. But not enough to get past the (admittedly anticipated) extreme violence.

    Then again, my favorite action movie is Die Hard. Oh, how I love Alan Rickman…

    Like

Leave a Reply

