hanging out with the strikers…

On Friday I ended up bussing it to Culver City to join the strikers at the Fox Studios. I didn’t get there until around 11:30am and pretty much kept to myself – I was in a shy kinda mood. though I did run into stee very briefly as things were starting to wrap up. Plus I was just getting used to my new glasses that I picked up that morning, so the world was a little off-kilter. Still, it was really cool being there, hanging out and taking pictures. There were easily 2,000-3,000 people there and I got tons of photos. Here are just a few:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

For those worried about those blank pages in the scripts.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Keeping the strikers’ spirits up. (I actually took this near the end of the event – I didn’t hear them playing during my time there.)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Not long after the start of the marching portion of the day, as the strikers’ marched up and down Avenue of the Stars. Demetri Martin is the fellow in the white t-shirt in the front.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Brian Posehn talking with his fellow strikers. Heaven help me, I used to watch Just Shoot Me! back in the day, even though I rarely laughed at it and didn’t like it much. Except when Brian Posehn was on. I like Brian Posehn. Too bad he’s on The Sarah Silverman Program now. I do not like Sarah Silverman.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Near the end of the event – very intense discussions going on in the crowd.

And now for the Cutest Picture Ever:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I mean, I know the baby’s parents put her on the pile o’ signs to get attention – it’s pretty damned obvious. But this baby was all levels of photogenic ham (“Where’s mah contract?!”). And damned if my ovaries didn’t do their own little dance at this way too adorable baby. Why, they’re zinging now! Damned ovaries.

*************************

In other news, yes, I did get new glasses. And they look so cute and even a little hip and funky:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I never thought I would look good in funky frames – nice to know I was wrong about that!

However, if you look very closely, you may notice a bit of redness above my left eyebrow (which is on the right side of the photo). That redness looks more like this:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Yep, it’s red and swollen. I have no idea where it came from. I have not been hitting my head against walls or banging boards against it. It just popped up out of nowhere on Friday evening, along with a less noticeable, but equally painful, swelling in front and behind my left ear. I suspect I have a bit of an infection brewing, but I’ll know for sure after I go to the doctor a little later today. Because bumps located above my eye that get bigger and more tender each day? Not really the norm for me.

If I’da known that my warranty was going to expire once I hit 40, I would have talked to the manufacturer about buying an extended warranty. Because this totally sucks.


Leave a Reply

